Page 1 of 1

Directx 12 or Vulkan?

PostPosted: April 19th, 2016, 2:12 am
by Clone
That whole Vulkan vs DX12 kinda reminds me of the good old Sega vs Nintendo war. I love Microsoft and DirectX never disappointed me but.... both valve and my fav game devs Croteam are both behind Vulkan (Talos being one of the first Vulkan compatible game *Playable using Vulkan already avalaible*).


Re: Directx 12 or Vulkan?

PostPosted: April 19th, 2016, 4:15 am
by hawkesnightmare
I would go DirectX simply because it's more widely available and it's had more time to be refined. Vulkan is relatively new so it's bound to be buggier than Bethesda's office kitchen.

Re: Directx 12 or Vulkan?

PostPosted: April 19th, 2016, 4:33 am
by Clone
hawkesnightmare wrote:I would go DirectX simply because it's more widely available and it's had more time to be refined. Vulkan is relatively new so it's bound to be buggier than Bethesda's office kitchen.



Also Vulkan is being develop by AMD............

Re: Directx 12 or Vulkan?

PostPosted: April 19th, 2016, 7:51 am
by TRUTECH
Team green for me

Re: Directx 12 or Vulkan?

PostPosted: April 19th, 2016, 11:08 am
by Justin
Vulkan is beind developed by AMD, which has been the major graphics chip supplier for all three big console brands for a while now so it should be interesting to see what happens with development in the coming decade. Wonder if the next XBox will go with an NVidia card over an AMD one.

Re: Directx 12 or Vulkan?

PostPosted: April 19th, 2016, 2:25 pm
by hawkesnightmare
Clone wrote:
hawkesnightmare wrote:I would go DirectX simply because it's more widely available and it's had more time to be refined. Vulkan is relatively new so it's bound to be buggier than Bethesda's office kitchen.



Also Vulkan is being develop by AMD............

Actually that's not bad. AMD is great at making stuff that performs fantastically for what you pay for it. I'll be interested to see where it goes, but for now I would stick with the tried and true.

Re: Directx 12 or Vulkan?

PostPosted: April 19th, 2016, 4:59 pm
by Animus
I have AMD cards actually. :D But I'm still using DirectX for now, although I might switch to Vulkan some day.